Autumn is here!

Here we are – 4th of October. I am now back at University, settling back into my usual routine and getting used to my early morning starts (I have been very spoiled this summer with some lovely lay ins!)

Autumn means a lot of things to me – it is my favourite season of the whole year! It means pumpkins, gorgeous squashes, infinity scarfs, ugg boots, crunchy autumn leaves and cups and cups of tea. Its when the sun goes into power-saving mode and rainclouds come out to play. There is nothing better to me than being tucked on on my windowsill, wrapped up a warm, snuggly jumper with mug of a nice warm drink in hand. And if their are raindrops chasing their way down the window – even better!

This year I’ve got a few bits going on. Obviously I’m back at University now which is great. I have been working on my Life Coaching Diploma over the summer but I have found a good place to stop for a little while, it’s great because it has no time limit so I can leave it for a little while now and pick it up again when I’m less busy. This summer I also got to go and visit my Dad in the Isle of Wight, it was so much fun and the weather was great for a few of the days – I even got a chance to get on the beach! One of the things we did while we were there was visit the Garlic Farm. I LOVE garlic and we had a great time looking around and learning about lots of different types of garlic and what they do inside the body. They even had a man out the front selling fresh corn on the cob roasted in juicy garlic butter – yum!

   
 
It was delicious! 

It even inspired me to have a go at growing some garlic myself! I’ve had carrots on the go this summer which are nearly ready to harvest but some varieties of garlic are grown over the winter – like purple mendoza which apparently is perfect for garlic bread! SOLD! 😀

  
And here it is all settled in its pots sprinkled with egg shells to ward off any sluggs! I did try to grow spinach this year, it was doing so well indoors that I moved it outside but then the slugs ate it all up.. clearly it was delicious because there was none left for me!

My plans for the next few months are pretty varied so I’m really looking forward to settling back into a blogging routine and recording everything here! In November I’m going to be taking part in NaNoWriMo and trying to write a novel, I’m also going to Bruges for the weekend with Josh and my family and in the mean time I’ll be making the most of pumpkin season!

What’s your favourite thing about Autumn?

Leave a Reply

