Omelette Mexicana!

I’ve realized I haven’t posted a lot of recipes recently – but here’s one that I’ve eaten a few times over the last few weeks. It may not be a traditional omelette (I like to grill it) and it may not be entirely mexican either. But this mexican-inspired healthy post-lectures meal suits me just fine!

photo (1)

Crack three eggs into a jug then add a small splash of milk. Season with a pinch of salt and pepper and then go to town adding whatever flavours you like! For this one I added a small amount of jalapenos pepper with seeds removed (probably about half a chili), a few slices of spring onion, a sausage that I had left over in the fridge from the night before slice up and about half a red pepper sliced into small chunks.

Once you have your mixture give it a good mix and poor it into a hot frying pan with a small drizzle of vegetable oil. Let it cook until it starts to set around the edges and when you look underneath (peer under with a knife) it should be starting to go a little brown in places. When it gets to this stage I take it off the heat, add a handful of grated cheese and place it under the grill to finish off. It’s done with the cheese is bubbly and beginning to brown. Then – here’s the twist! – I add a bit of sour cream and serve with salsa!

I love it because with omelettes you don’t have to be exact and it’s a great way of using up whatever you have left in the fridge. Hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

