London family meet-up and Bills (Borough Market)

Last Saturday my mum came down to London for the day and given that one of my sisters lives in London and me and my other sisters only live in Kent we all travelled in for a big girly day out! It was really nice to see them as we’ve all been super busy. We went round London and did lots of Christmassy things! We even wore our matching christmas jumpers 😉

10492229_10204312016137042_6830527586160341355_n10647002_10204312017017064_437737860755299485_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes that is me and my sister holding a cup filled with strawberries, marshmallows and liquid chocolate. Yum! This year we visited the christmas market at Bankside. I’m sure it used to be on southbank – maybe it’s moved or there’s two, I’m not sure! Either way it was great having a look round at the christmassy chalets selling seasonal creations like gingerbread houses and christmas hats.

988962_10204312016577053_4748007205464902748_n

 

London and Christmas time never fails to amaze me – whether its Winter Wonderland at Hyde Park or Ice Skating outside the Natural History Museum, it never fails to get me in the festive spirit!

We also had a quick walk through borough market on the way to get some lunch which I’ve visited a few times now. I didn’t get any good photo’s this time as it was very busy but here are a few from last time:

IMG_5451IMG_5450

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_5449IMG_5448

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_5445IMG_5444

 

 

 

 

 

 

This was around harvest time – so lots of pumpkins and squashes around! Slightly less of that this time but still lots of honey, cheese, fish, meat and street food stalls to take a look at! My favourite stall is called the Turkish Deli where you can find the best Turkish delight – really soft and chewy! We didn’t stop for too long this time and instead we carried on out to the back to a restaurant called Bills. There are lots of Bills all over the place now (you can find your local one here) and I think they must be doing well because there is another Bills opening near me in Maidstone and I can’t wait to go back!

10407046_10204312015737032_6414175632934268654_n

 

This particular Bills was fairly small and on a busy Saturday lunch time we were pretty lucky (and turned up just at the right time) to get a table. Me and my vegetarian sister went with the same choice in the end:

IMG_5680

 

That is a sesame seed bun with grilled halloumi, baby gem lettuce, humous, roasted red pepper, sweet chilli sauce and yogurt served with sweet potato fries. It was delish and I enjoyed it so much I even had a go at replicating it for dinner the next week! This is my version – with curly fries instead – not quite as nice as those yummy sweet potato fries!

photo

 

My Sister went for the duck pie. Slowly braised duck leg with carrot, rich gravy and pearly barley. Topped with buttery mash and smoked dorset cheddar:

IMG_5681

 

My mum had Bill’s style bbq pork ribs, slow cooked with creamy slaw and skin on fries and it did not disappoint. They weren’t skimpy with the portion size like some places and the ribs were bbq-ey (yep thats a word..) and delicious!

IMG_5682

 

All in all we had a great visit to Bills – it’s definitely somewhere I would go again and you felt like you were getting good proper food. You can check out their website and their menu here. So, full of food we continued round London getting in the Christmas mood. Do you and your family have any Christmas traditions? What makes you feel all festive?

2 thoughts on “London family meet-up and Bills (Borough Market)

Leave a Reply

